Connetquot set to induct six former athletes and two coaches into its Athletic Hall of Fame


Connetquot schools’ athletic department announced this week that the district’s Athletic Hall of Fame will induct eight new members during a special induction ceremony in May.

The inductees — six former district athletes and two longtime Connetquot coaches — were announced by Connetquot varsity football coach Michael Konsevich and Connetquot Athletic Director Peter Melore. Both are members of the 2022 selections committee. Three cross country runners are in the group.

Athletic Hall of Fame inductees are selected every two years by a committee of veteran coaches, teachers and administrators from nominations submitted by qualified, graduated Connetquot student-athletes, coaches and community members.

The indcution ceremony takes place on May 7 at 10 a.m. in the Connetquot High School cafeteria.

Here are the inductees.

Brendan Dent (2013), Wrestling

James Higgins (2013) Football, Baseball and Basketball

Christine Hyland (1998) Cross-country and Track

Robert Krause (2006) Cross-country and Track

James Melchiona (1993) Football and Wrestling

Erin Melly (2014) Cross-country and Track

Coach Bob Ambrosini, Baseball and Football

Coach Tom Anziano, Cross-country and Softball

Tickets for the May 7 brunch and ceremony are $20 per person. You can contact for additional information. The district said the deadline to make reservations is April 22.

Photos: Courtesy of Connetquot school district.